Personal Injury Lawsuit Statute Of Limitations

In most situations, legal action must be taken in a personal injury lawsuit within a set window from the injury taking place, or from the plaintiff becoming aware that an injury took place. This is known as a statute of limitations.

Each state has its own statutory period in which legal action must be taken for the claim to be valid. Find your state and corresponding statute in the table below.

State Statute of Limitations
Alabama 2 years
Arkansas 2 years
Arizona 2 years
Arkansas 2 years
California 2 years
Colorado 2 years
Connecticut 2 years
Delaware 2 years
District of Columbia 3 years
Florida 4 years
Georgia 2 years
Hawaii 2 years
Idaho 2 years
Illinois 2 years
Indiana 2 years
Iowa 2 years
Kansas 2 years
Kentucky 1 year
Louisiana 1 year
Maine 6 years
Maryland 3 years
Massachusetts 3 years
Michigan 3 years
Minnesota 2 years
Mississippi 3 years
Missouri 5 years
Montana 3 years
Nebraska 4 years
Nevada 2 years
New Hampshire 3 years
New Jersey 2 years
New Mexico 3 years
New York 3 years
North Carolina 3 years
North Dakota 6 years*
Ohio 2 years
Oklahoma 2 years
Oregon 2 years
Pennsylvania 2 years
Rhode Island 3 years
South Carolina 3 years
South Dakota 3 years
Tennessee 1 year
Texas 2 years
Utah 4 years
Vermont 3 years
Virginia 2 years
Washington 3 years
West Virginia 2 years
Wisconsin 3 years
Wyoming 4 years

* North Dakota has a separate 2 years statute of limitations for wrongful death claims.

NOTE: State statutes are frequently revised, and there are special statutes that apply to particular types of cases-in some case types, the time to file will be significantly shorter than that listed below.

The limitations periods below are intended for general informational purposes only, and should not be relied upon. There is NO substitute for speaking to an attorney who handles personal injury cases in your state or checking the appropriate state statutes. Laws may have changed since our last update.

Free Case Evaluation

Copyright © 2016 MH Sub I, LLC. All rights reserved.

Call us 855-694-9176

Some bumps and bruises are a natural part of life. But when your pain is caused by reckless behavior, abusive behavior or negligent practices, Total Injury is there.

If you were injured as a result of someone’s negligence or intentional actions against you, you may have the right to compensation for any injury, damage or loss caused by the person at fault. About Us »

Attorneys: We help clients find you! Call 877-349-1307

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.